Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

League Announce Nominees

21 March 2013

Who are the league's best players?

It's the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.

The Football League has announced the final shortlists ahead of Sunday’s Football League Awards 2013.

The final shortlists cover the npower Player of the Year for each division, as well as the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year across the whole of The Football League.

These awards are just some of the 17 awards that will be handed out this year, with the winners being announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.

The shortlists for the npower Players of the Year were drawn up based on votes from the managers in the respective divisions. A list of the ‘top 10’ players in each division based on the managers’ votes will be released after The Football League Awards night.  

The full shortlists, including that for the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year are:

Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year
Thomas Ince – Blackpool
Matěj Vydra – Watford
Wilfried Zaha     Crystal Palace

npower League 2 Player of the Year
(voted for by Football League club managers)
Jamie Cureton – Exeter City                
Gary Jones – Bradford City    
Tom Pope – Port Vale

npower League 1 Player of the Year
(voted for by Football League club managers)
Leon Clarke – Coventry City
Alan Judge – Notts County
Matt Ritchie – AFC Bournemouth

npower Championship Player of the Year
(voted for by Football League club managers)
Thomas Ince – Blackpool
Glenn Murray – Crystal Palace
Matěj Vydra – Watford

Richard Heaselgrave, Chief Commercial Officer at The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards are a great way to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes at each club, as well as the action that has taken place on the pitch each week.
“To make these shortlists is a real achievement.  I would like to wish all those nominated the best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners on the evening.”

Clubs also have an opportunity to taste success on the evening with a number of other awards on the night including; npower Fan of the Year, Mitre Goal of the Year, Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement, Capital One ‘Credit to the Game’ Award, PFA Player in the Community, LFE Apprentice of the Year Family Club of the Year, Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year, Perform Best Use of Digital and the Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award. 

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block