Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote For Our Goal Of 2013

15 January 2014

Which strike will top the pile?

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2013 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by watching our video HERE and then tweeting @ColU_Official or by visiting The Wall and voting HERE.

Our shortlist for the chosen goal is as follows:-

Billy Clifford v Yeovil - February 
George Porter v Crewe Alexandra - March
Gavin Massey v Coventry City - March 
Gavin Massey v Leyton Orient - April 
Andy Bond v Gillingham - August 
Freddie Sears v Sheffield United - August 
Freddie Sears v Carlisle - August 
Brian Wilson v Dagenham - September 
Jeffrey Monakana v Bradford - September 
Freddie Sears v Walsall - October 
Luke Garbutt v Preston - November 
Craig Eastmond v MK Dons - November 
Macauley Bonne v MK Dons - November 
Jabo Ibehre v Stevenage - December 

Closing date for your votes is 5pm next Wednesday, January 21st.  

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014.  

A judging panel will then review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9th February.  

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 16th March 2014.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

.www.FLAwards.comTo find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block