Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

20/21 EFL Season Dates Confirmed

Cup games up first for U's

14 August 2020

Dates for the 20/21 season across the EFL competitions have been confirmed.

The league itself starts in mid-September, but it will be the Carabao Cup that offically kicks things off, with First Round matches being played on Saturday 5th September.

Carabao Cup
The 2020/21 competition has seen a number of significant scheduling changes with two legged semi-finals being replaced by a single tie and the first four rounds scheduled to take place on consecutive weeks, kicking off in early September.

Round One fixtures are scheduled to take place on Saturday 5th September, but due to the international window may be played on alternative dates. Rounds Two, Three and Four will be played on consecutive midweeks dates starting 15th/16th September.

Premier League sides will enter the competition in Round Two or Round Three if they are competing in European competition in season 2020/21.

The Draw for the Round One will take place on Sky Sports News on Tuesday 18 August 2020, time TBC.

As per the previous two seasons, the Round One draw will be divided into a northern and southern section but will remain unseeded.

The dates for the 2020/21 Carabao Cup are as follows:

- Round One - 5th September 2020 (alternative dates may apply)
- Round Two - 15th/16th September 2020
- Round Three - 22nd/23rd September 2020
- Round Four - 29th/30th September 2020
- Round Five - 22nd/23rd December 2020
- Semi-Finals - 5th/6th January 2021 (tie to be played at the venue of Club drawn out first)
- Final - 28th February 2021

Sky Bet EFL
As previously advised, League competition in the Sky Bet EFL will kick-off on Saturday 12th September, while the regular seasons in the Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two will conclude on 8th/9th May 2021. 

Due to the unprecedented challenges facing the fixture calendar as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic and starting six weeks later than usual, the Sky Bet EFL Championship will feature thirteen midweek match rounds, whilst League One and League Two will have eleven respectively throughout season 2020/21.

The season will culminate in the Sky Bet Play-Off Finals taking place at Wembley Stadium over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend 29th-31st May 2021.

The 2020/21 Sky Bet EFL fixture schedule will also be released on Friday 21st August at 9am.

EFL Trophy
The EFL Trophy will officially get underway in Matchday One during week commencing 7th September, and culminating at Wembley Stadium for the Final on Sunday 14th March 2021.

The competition format remains unchanged, however, the title sponsorship with has come to an end so the competition will revert back to the EFL Trophy.

The dates for the 2020/21 EFL Trophy are as follows:

- Matchday 1 - 8th/9th September 2020
- Matchday 2 - 6th/7th October 2020
- Matchday 3 - 10th/11th November 2020
- Round of 32 - 8th/9th December 2020
- Round of 16 - 12th/13th January 2021
- Quarter-Finals - 2nd/3rd February 2021
- Semi-Finals - 16th/17th February 2021
- Final - 14th March 2021

Category One Invited Clubs taking part in the 2020/21 EFL Trophy competition have now been confirmed and are as follows:

Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton & Hove Albion, Chelsea, Fulham, Leeds United, Leicester City,  Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Norwich City (EFL), Southampton, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United, Wolverhampton Wanderers. 

The Group Stage draw for the EFL Trophy will take place on Tuesday 18th August at 1.30pm on TalkSPORT 2.

Broadcasting plans for the Sky Bet EFL, Carabao Cup and EFL Trophy will be confirmed in due course.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account